Managing Members

The purpose of this article is to provide a foundational understanding of how to manage members inside your site. Members are the ‘end-users’ of your site. The Members section of the Admin site is where you manage who has access, who is invited, and what data is either appended to the profile or entered directly by the member.

There are six tabs used to manage your site members, which we will explain in this article:

  • Active
  • Pending
  • Invited
  • Pre-Verified
  • Admins
  • Inactive

Once you understand how these different Member areas work, it will become easier to operate your network and the frequent tasks required of an Administrator.

Examples in our FAQ at the bottom of the article:

  • Inviting members to your site
  • Approving or rejecting members who join your site without an invitation
  • Impersonating a member to troubleshoot an issue
  • Updating member data
  • De-activating members who should no longer be in your site
  • Managing duplicate members

Active Members

Active Members are a list of everyone who has joined your site. In order to have joined, they would have been pre-verified, invited through a community, or manually approved in the pending table. Clicking on members in this list will provide a member's detail page, which lists all the fields, activity, and actions you can take in association with that member.

Pending

Members who sign up for your site without going through the pre-verification process, meaning they didn’t use an email invitation and their email isn’t associated with a pre-verification record, will be listed under Pending.

Admins have the ability to approve or reject pending members.

When approving a site member, you are prompted to enter their Unique ID. We recommend searching your pre-verification list to ensure this is not a duplicate account (e.g. different email address). If you enter a Unique ID that exists in the pre-verification list, Wisr will automatically merge the data together and activate their profile.

Invited Members

Invited Members are those who have been invited through direct Community invitations. Community Leaders and Administrators have the ability to directly invite Members, which includes automatic verification of their profile.

Link to more on Community invitations.

Pre-Verified

Pre-verification is the process of importing the list of members who will be invited to access your site and synchronizing any external data with their Wisr record. Think of it as a profile placeholder that hasn’t been claimed by a member yet.

Pre-verification accomplishes the following:

  • Grants automatic site access for members with email addresses you have approved
  • Creates a unique invitation URL for each member that can be used in subsequent email invitation campaign
  • Appends data to the members profile, such as education history, reducing onboarding requirements and maintaining data consistency
  • Appends admin-only custom fields to the member profile for segmentation and reporting

Pre-verifying a member is not the same as inviting them to join your site. Pre-verification generates a unique invitation URL per member, that you can subsequently send to them directly or include as a personalization variable in an email campaign.

The Wisr implementation process includes bulk pre-verifying members you wish to invite to join your site. For more on importing your members into Wisr through pre-verifications, view this article: Importing Data into Wisr.

Admins

Admins have the ability to invite additional admins to the admin site or promote existing members to admin status.

If the member you wish to make an admin already has a profile in your site. You can promote them to be an administrator on the Active Members table. Navigate to their Member Detail page, click the drop down next to ‘View Profile’ and click ‘Grant admin privileges’.

Inactive

The Inactive member list displays deactivated members who no longer have access to their account. You can deactivate a member using the same dropdown on the member details page. If a member was deactivated accidentally or needs to be re-activated, you can activate their account from the Inactive table.

FAQ

Now that you understand what member tables in Wisr consist of, here are some common actions taken by Administrators in regard to the member tables. Given the volume of answers, here is a list before scrolling:

  • How do I invite member to my site?
  • How do I impersonate a member to troubleshoot an issue?
  • How do I approve or reject members who join my site without an invitation?
  • How do I de-activate members who should no longer be in my site?
  • How do I manage duplicate members in my site?
  • How do I help a member update their data? 

How do I invite members to my site?

There are multiple ways to invite members to your Wisr site. For more detailed information on inviting members to your site read this article: Inviting New Members.

How do I impersonate a member to troubleshoot an issue?

When a member has an issue on your site that you need to look into, you can impersonate the member to view the site from their perspective. To impersonate a member:

  1. Search for the member on the active members table on the administrative backend. Click on the name of the member you wish to impersonate.
  2. Click the arrow to the right of View Profile and then choose Impersonate.

  3. When you have successfully impersonated a member, you will see their name in a yellow bar on the top of the screen. While this is the case, every action you take will be done as that member. When you need to stop impersonating the member, press “release Member Name” and you will be taken back to the administrative portal.

How do I approve or reject members who join my site without an invitation?

When a member signs up without an invitation, they will land in your Pending Members table in the administrative backend. To approve or reject the member:

  1. Navigate to the Pending Member Click on the ellipsis on the far right of the members information and choose whether to approve or reject the member.

  2. If you choose to approve the member, you will be prompted to enter the Unique ID that your institution uses to identify this member. Enter the ID and press Save Unique ID. The member will then appear in the Active Members table and is approved to use the site.

  3. If you chose to reject the member, they will appear in the Inactive Members

How do I de-activate members who should no longer be in my site?

Sometimes if a member is spamming or harmful to other members, you will need to deactivate their account. You can do this from the Admin Backend of the site. To deactivate a member in your site:

  1. Navigate to that member in the Active Members Click on the person’s name to view their profile.
  2. Click the arrow in the top right corner of the profile and then choose Deactivate member.

  1. Once you choose to deactivate the member, you will be prompted to select or add a reason why the member is being deactivated. Once you select your reason, click Deactivate Member.

You will receive this notification on your screen if they have been deactivated successfully.

NOTE: If you ever need to reactivate an inactive member, just head to the Inactive Member table and click on the name. From there, you can click the arrow and choose to Reactivate member.

How do I manage duplicate members in my site?

If see that a member has multiple accounts (usually this happens when a member signs up with two different email addresses), you should contact the member and ask which account they would like to keep and which account they would like to delete, and then contact adminsupport@wisr.io and let us know.

We will be able to delete the duplicate account on your site. 

How do I help a member update their data?

Member data changes as students become alumni or leave a program. If you need to update a member’s data, you can:

  1. Navigate to that member in the Active Members Click on the person’s name and click Edit Personal Info.

  2. Once you are done editing the member’s data, don’t forget to click Save at the bottom.

If you need to bulk update member data, read our article on updating member data.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us